Call With Any Questions or Concerns!
However, if charged and guilty of being under the influence of legal prescription drugs while driving, there is a mandatory loss of license for 7 months to 12 months. The New Jersey DWI statute is not only about prohibiting driving after drinking, it also prohibits driving after taking prescription medication, which may render someone under the influence. Even if a medical doctor prescribed the medication, police can still charge someone with driving under the influence of those medications.
It does not matter whether the drugs are legal or illegal for the seven-month suspension. It does not matter if you have a valid medical marijuana card.
If charged with DWI under the influence of a drug, you need to hire an attorney immediately for this type of case. If you cannot afford one, ask for a public defender. If you want a free consultation call Andrew S. Prince at (732) 388-5454 or email him at email@example.com to assist you in your defense.
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. Criminal defense attorney Andrew Prince represents clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Clark, West New York, Elizabeth, Newark and throughout New Jersey. Call (908) 304-9187 or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office located at 136 Central Avenue Clark NJ 07066 in addition to offices located in West New York.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.