Free Consultation


New Jersey

Motorcycle Tips

By:  Andrew S. Prince, Esq.
1-(800)-TEAM-LAW (832-6529) 

Call Me for a Free Consultation!

Because riding a motorcycle is significantly more dangerous than riding in a traditional vehicle, there are several rules and laws governing how to safely operate a bike.

Andrew Prince, with over 25 plus years of representing bikers, recommends that all riders familiarize themselves with a few important motorcycle laws in the State of New Jersey.

Motorcycle License Road Test

A road test must be taken and passed before earning a New Jersey motorcycle license.  The test can be scheduled 20 days or more after earning a motorcycle learner’s permit.

However, in lieu of taking the road test, riders can complete the Motorcycle Safety Education Program Basic Road Course.  All riders under the age of 18 must complete this course. The three-day course is given in numerous locations throughout the State.  Upon completion, instructors will validate the rider’s permit, which will allow him or her to obtain a license. The best in the State is Rider Education of New Jersey.  Go to

Obtaining a Motorcycle Endorsement

If you already have a New Jersey driver’s license and are seeking to obtain a motorcycle endorsement, you can simply take the Motorcycle Safety Education Program Basic Rider Course and submit your course completion certificate, along with a vision exam, to obtain your endorsement.  Again, Rider Education is what Andrew Prince recommends.  

New Jersey Motorcycle Helmet Law

New Jersey requires all drivers and passengers to wear helmets when riding motorcycles in the State (New Jersey Revised Statues 39:3-76.7).  Helmets must be secure and sized appropriately for the rider. Neck or chin straps must be used and the helmet must have reflective material.  The helmet should be approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT).  

Eye Protection

In addition to helmets, New Jersey law also mandates motorcycle drivers wear protective goggles or a face shield.  In lieu of goggles or a face shield, an approved wind screen can be installed on the motorcycle.  

Additional Motorcycle Requirements

Just as there are laws about who can ride a motorcycle and what he or she must wear to protect himself or herself, there are also laws to ensure the safety of the motorcycle.  

Handle-Bar Height

According to New Jersey Revised Statues 39:3-76.3, the handle-bar height on a motorcycle cannot be higher than the shoulder height of the driver while seated.  


All motorcycle must have at least one working headlight, but not more than two, along with a tail-light, brake light, license plate light and at least one rear reflector.  


Motorcycles in New Jersey must have at least one rear-view mirror.  This is important for ensuring you can see all of the vehicles and potential motorcycle road hazards around you.  

Compliance with NHTSA

All motorcycles in New Jersey must be manufactured with the Federal Motor Safety Standards established by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).  

Do I Have to Buy Motorcycle Insurance in New Jersey?

Proof of insurance is required to register a motorcycle in New Jersey.  The State law requires a minimum of $15,000 in liability insurance, $30,000 for total body injury for multiple people and $5,000 for property damage.  Insurers provide many policies offering riders different levels of coverage. Never ever purchase the minimum. You should get as much as you can afford, but never less than $250,000.  Progressive now offers $500,000.  

Following these laws and rules can help ensure you are doing everything you can to stay safe while riding a motorcycle.  However, despite your best efforts, motorcycle accidents still occur. Feel free to call or email Andrew Prince to discuss for free you current motorcycle insurance coverage.

If you have been injured while riding a motorcycle due to someone else’s negligence, ( Andrew Prince can help you determine your legal options for holding the liable party responsible for the harm he or she caused.  He will work to obtain the maximum compensation! Do you want to talk with Andrew Prince who will not steer you wrong? Call (800) 832-6529 or (732) 388-5454 to speak with Andrew Prince.  You can also email Andrew Prince at or fax me at (732) 428-1509 

Andrew S. Prince, Esq.
136 Central Avenue
Clark, NJ 07066

(732) 388-5454
1 (800) 832-6529
(732) 428-1509 — Fax

Additional Offices in New Jersey:
Edison, East Brunswick, Jersey City, Newark, Orange, Perth Amboy, and Westfield